Past Presidents

Current President: Mark Coen, University College, Dublin.

Past presidents:

1979-1980 RV Heuston, Trinity College Dublin

1980-1981 James Brady, University College Dublin

1981-1982 Desmond Greer, Queen's University Belfast

1982-1983 Henry Ellis, NIHE Limerick

1983-1984 James Casey, University College Dublin

1984-1985 WR Duncan, Trinity College Dublin

1985-1986 Kevin Boyle, National University of Ireland, Galway

1986-1987 Frank Watters, Dundalk Institute of Technology

1987-1988 Judith Eve, Queen's University Belfast

1988-1989 Sean O’Connor

1989-1990 Finbarr McAuley, University College Dublin

1990-1991 Tom O’Malley, National University of Ireland, Galway

1991-1992 Brian Collins, University of Ulster

1992-1993 Raymond Byrne, Dublin City University

1993-1994 Paul McCutcheon, University of Limerick

1994-1996 Dermot Walsh, University of Ulster

1996-1997 Deirdre Madden, University College Cork

1997-1998 Tom O’Malley, National University of Ireland, Galway & Eoin O’Dell, Trinity College Dublin

1998-1999 Eoin O’Dell, Trinity College Dublin

1999-2000 Bruce Carolan, Dublin Institute of Technology

2000-2001 Ubaldus de Vries, Dublin City University

2001-2002 John Stannard, Queen's University Belfast

2002-2003 TP Kennedy, Law Society of Ireland

2003-2004 Fergus Ryan, Dublin Institute of Technology

2004-2005 Sean Quinn, Letterkenny Institute of Technology

2005-2006 Sean Quinn, Letterkenny Institute of Technology

2009-2010 Jennifer Schweppe, University of Limerick

2010-2011 Michael Doherty, Dublin City University

2011-2012 Deirdre Ahern, Trinity College Dublin

2012-2013 Noel McGrath, University College Dublin

2013-2014 Fergus Ryan, Maynooth University

2014-2016 Charles O'Mahony, National University of Ireland, Galway

2016-2017 Claire Hamilton, National University of Ireland, Maynooth



2017 Annual Conference Photos

The 2017 Conference Programme and selected photos are now online for the 2017 Annual Conference in Dunboyne Castle.

Read More

New Council Elected

Following the general meeting at the 2017 Annual Conference in Dunboyne a new council for the association was selected, with Dr Mark Coen of the Sutherland School of Law, University College, Dublin as President. For a full list of council members, including institutional representatives, click here.

Read More

Annual Conference Venue Announced

The Irish Association of Law Teachers is delighted to announce that the IALT Conference 2017 will take place at Dunboyne Castle Hotel and Spa, Co. Meath from Friday 24th to Sunday 26th of November 2017. As usual, the conference will have a strong academic tone, with a series of keynote and plenary sessions, alongside parallel…

Read More

We’ve launched our new site!

Welcome to the new IALT website.    

Read More