Membership list

The affairs of the Association are managed by a Council, consisting of a President, a Treasurer, a Secretary, a Membership Secretary and a number of Ordinary Members.

The current Council 2016-17 consists of:


Dr Claire Hamilton, National University of Ireland Galway


Dr Fergus Ryan, Maynooth University


Dr Mark Coen, University College Dublin

Ordinary Members:

Ms Hope Davidson, University of Limerick

Dr Connie Healy, NUI Galway

Dr John Lombard, University of Limerick

Dr Deirdre McGowan, Dublin Institute of Technology

Dr Tanya Ní Mhuirthile, Dublin City University

Dr Charles O'Mahony, NUI Galway

Dr Catherine O'Sullivan, University College Cork

Dr John E Stannard, Queen's University Belfast

Previous Council 2013-14


Fergus Ryan National University of Ireland Maynooth


Val Corbett Independent Colleges, Dublin


Claire Hamilton Queen's University Belfast

Membership Secretary:

Deirdre Ahern Trinity College Dublin

Ordinary Members:

Brenda Daly Dublin City University

Mary Faulkner The Honourable Society of King's Inns

Sarah Fulham McQuillan Trinity College Dublin

Noel McGrath  University College Dublin

Tanya Ní Mhuirthile Griffith College Dublin C

harles O'Mahony National University of Ireland Galway

John Stannard Queen's University Belfast

Frankie Watters Dundalk Institute of Technology

Signup for

our newsletter

Newsletter Form

Annual Conference Venue Announced

The Irish Association of Law Teachers is delighted to announce that the IALT Conference 2017 will take place at Dunboyne Castle Hotel and Spa, Co. Meath from Friday 24th to Sunday 26th of November 2017. As usual, the conference will have a strong academic tone, with a series of keynote and plenary sessions, alongside parallel…

Read More

We’ve launched our new site!

Welcome to the new IALT website.    

Read More