Council members

The affairs of the Association are managed by a Council, consisting of a President, a Treasurer, a Secretary, a Membership Secretary and a number of Ordinary Members.

The current Council 2017-18 consists of:


Deirdre McGowan, Dublin Institute of Technology



Stephen Coutts, University College Cork



Brian Barry, Dublin Institute of Technology


Membership Secretary:

Catherine O’Sullivan, University College Cork


Ordinary Members:

Ailbhe O'Neill, Trinity College Dublin

Eimear Long, Dublin Business School

Hope Davidson, University of Limerick

Lydia Bracken, University of Limerick

Conor Hanly, National University of Ireland, Galway

Bronagh Heverin, Letterkenny Institute of Technology

Elaine Walsh, Athlone Institute of Technology

Rory O'Boyle, Law Society of Ireland

Esther McGuinness, University of Ulster

Louise Kennefick, Maynooth University

Kevin Brown, Queen's University Belfast

Rónán Condon, Dublin City University

Val Corbett,

Mark Cohen, University College Dublin

2018 Annual Conference Photos now available

A wonderful set of photos from the 2018 Annual Conference in Athlone are now available.   

Read More

2019 Kevin Boyle Book Prize – Call for Nominations

We are delighted to announce the 2019 Kevin Boyle Book Prize for Legal Scholarship. All members of the association are eligible for nomination and books published in any field of legal scholarship will be considered. Further details and the nomination form are available here. 

Read More

2019 Conference Dates announced

The 2019 Annual Conference of the Association will take place in Limerick this year. The conference will take place at the Strand Hotel, overlooking the Shannon over the weekend of 22 to 23 November 2019. Further details to follow.     

Read More

2018-2019 Council Elected

A big thank you to all our members who made the trip to Athlone for what was a very successful weekend discussing issues of law teaching and meeting colleagues, old and new. A new council has been elected and is listed here and Deirdre McGowan was elected President of the Association for the year 2018-2019. We look…

Read More

2018 Spring Discourse

IALT Spring Discourse 2018 On Tuesday 24 April 2018 the IALT held its first Spring event in many years when the Spring Discourse took place in the Moot Courtroom of the Sutherland School of Law at University College Dublin. The Chief Justice, Mr Justice Frank Clarke, was in conversation with Miriam O’Callaghan about his life…

Read More